My Uncle



My Uncle really left. It was a 5 day funeral. It is a strange lost feeling that I have when he passed. I mean I never liked the way he talked to us in a condescending manner as if his own kids are any better. But I realized, at least all my cousins are married and with kids now. So… 

Albeit having said that, I also realized at the same moment that he was the Uncle that we see all the time during celebrations, Chinese New Year and joyous occasion. He was the Uncle whom was the closest Uncle to us and my aunts and mum. It is a strange feeling of him being distant but yet close to my heart. The day when I saw him well in the hospital to the day I saw him unconscious in the ICU made my heart falter. One moment he was all well and discharged and the other moment he went unconscious in his home and was out of pulse for more than 30 mins. How horrible can life get?
But the touching moment was that, all the cousins were there to see him and most cousins (except 2) were there to bid him goodbye when his sons decided to let him go by stopping the support meds to their brain dead father. There were 6 of us + my uncle’s 3 sons so that’s 9 cousins. My brother and younger cousin left earlier. I feel sucky though to let someone go like this.

Leave a comment